Newly elected MPs have taken their oath

  • January 10, 2024

All candidates who won from their own constituencies in the 12th parliamentary election on January 7 have finished taking their oath of office as members of parliament today. Newly elected Jatiyo Party MPs were administered their oaths by Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury at the parliament around 12:10 PM.

The JP bagged 11 parliamentary seats in the January 7 national elections as seen in the Election Commission Gazette.

AL won 222 out of 298 seats, which was enough for the party led by Sheikh Hasina to form the government for a 4th consecutive five-year term since January 2009.

Two MPs of Workers Party and Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal, who won the election with the Awami League electoral symbol, took oath along with the ruling party. There was only one Kalyan Party MP, who took oath with independents, parliament secretariat sources confirmed. In total 16 political parties, including the BNP, boycotted the elections held on January 7.

Source: Daily Star