Shakib wins Magura-1 race becoming member of parliament

  • January 7, 2024

Awami League candidate for Magura-1 constituency Shakib Al Hasan has won the electoral race by bagging 185,388 votes. His nearest rival Kazi Rezaul Hossain secured 45,993 votes.

Voting began at 8am at 261,912 polling booths in 42,024 voting centres and continued until 4pm with 299 parliamentary seats up for election.

However, centres where people are still waiting to exercise their franchise will continue to accept votes.

Polls were deferred in one seat at the death of a candidate.

Source: Dhaka Tribune